Today’s news

I don’t usually blog about the news or politics, but today’s news has been so eventful… So here it goes!

Andrea Leadsom stepped down from the Tory leadership contest, meaning Theresa May will be crowned as Tory leader and Prime Minister soon…  David Cameron hummed merrily to himself after an interview outside Downing Street – perhaps it was the first few notes of The Great Escape theme tune? http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-36767880

Meanwhile, Angela Eagle officially began her campaign to challenge Jeremy Corbyn’s leadership of the Labour Party. I liked her speech, “I’m not a Blairite, I’m not a Brownite, I’m not a Corbynista. I am my own woman.” Somehow, it reminded me of the song I’m every woman by Chaka Khan. Who’d be a politician eh? British politics seems to be a bit chaotic after Brexit, hopefully it’ll settle down soon, and they’ll all stop stabbing each other in the back.

And as for the news from America of protests, shootings and violence… There seems to be so much pain, hurt and anger, all I can do from here is to hope and pray that the situation there will improve soon for everyone, regardless of race, colour, social background or job. I just hope the American people won’t elect that orange chap to be the new President in October, I can’t see him helping the situation. And I’m sure Theresa and Hilary would work well together… ūüėÉ 

I was also struck by the news today of a young man being killed by an 18 year old driving at 80 mph in a 30 mph zone.  The car was torn in half by the impact. Of all the crazy driving I saw in China, thankfully none was as bad as this… 

Leave a Reply

