Just a thought…

Have you ever felt like someone has taken rather a long time to answer a question that you thought was quite simple? Just like the sloth in Zootopia…


Sometimes I’ve been frustrated by people taking a long time to answer a question or tell me something (my students in China would sometimes spend ages telling me their boyfriend troubles… Much to my dismay!)

But I think recently things have been the other way round. I’ve been the one taking a long time to answer questions, particularly when people have asked me, “What will you do now that you’ve left China?” I’ve been thinking rather a lot about my time there and what to do next (plus some other things), so my thoughts have become rather jumbled up, a bit like this picture.


With thoughts that jumbled, it’s hard to know where to begin an answer to a seemingly simple question. So I’ve been grateful to people that have taken the time to patiently wait for my response… I’ve also been reminded to be a better listener myself -because no one can give a quick one word answer when their thoughts are jumbled up like this! 

2 thoughts on “Just a thought…

Leave a Reply

