Reminiscing…

I was just reminiscing about some of the wonderful and amazing places I’ve been lucky enough to visit over the past few years. 

In summer 2007 I went to Ukraine with my dad and sister to visit some relatives there. We stayed with family in a small village and it was like going back in time -their way of life was so different from ours in England. Many things have changed in Ukraine since then, I don’t know if their life will be as simple now as it was then…

farm life in Ukraine

walking a goat in Ukraine

Then in summer 2008 I went to South Africa and Lesotho for a month with some of my classmates from university. This was my first time to Africa and I loved it! We spent a lot of time volunteering in an orphanage, as well as helping in primary schools there. It was a really special time.

my friend in Lesotho


In fact, I liked Africa so much that I got a job in Tanzania from 2009 to 2011. I taught in a lovely school with some great people -and we were lucky enough to go on lots of safaris!

safari time!


Then I got a job as a teacher in Romania -another amazing country! The people there were very friendly and I spent many weekends in the beautiful mountains in Transylvania (where they keep the legend of vampires alive for the tourists!)

vampire’s castle, Romania


I stayed there for just over a year, then came back to England for a bit, before starting a job in China in 2014. My experience in China was also amazing -my students were great and it was wonderful to spend time exploring the country and culture. But after 2 years in China, I felt like it was time to move a little closer to home… 

Great Wall of China


So, I’m currently at home, wondering where my next adventure will be! 

This post was inspired by “Building Blocks of History” on: https://syllabubsea.wordpress.com/2016/08/24/building-blocks-of-history-24th-august/

5 thoughts on “Reminiscing…

Leave a Reply

