Travel Tuesdays 1: Romania 

Well, here I am on a train, gently meandering through the Romanian countryside… As I travel, I can’t help but feel excited for my little holiday to Sighisoara and Sibiu, as well as enjoying the time to reminisce about previous trips I’ve been on. With this in mind, I’ve decided to try to do a little series on my blog, entitled Travel Tuesdays (because I like the alliteration) where I will share with you some memories of the lovely places I’ve visited around the world.
So, for my first Travel Tuesdays post, I thought I’d write about my beloved Romania. This is actually my second time living in Bucharest -I guess I had to return to see more of this beautiful country! (I was first here in 2011/2012.) I love visiting the pretty, old medieval towns in the mountains of Transylvania, such as Sinaia, Brasov and Busteni, where you can wander merrily along cobbled streets, find wonderful castles, try skiing in the winter and enjoy beautiful scenery all year-round!

Brasov -October 2016

One special trip I had in 2012 was to the ice hotel in the Fagaras mountains -where everything, even the beds are made of ice! Needless to say, my friends and I didn’t really feel like sleeping on ice, so we slept in the nice, warm cabana next door, where we found many guests from the ice hotel trying desperately to warm up!

Ice bar -Winter 2012

The Black Sea is well worth a visit. So far, I’ve visited the crowded, touristy beaches near to Constanta, for some lovely sunbathing and swimming time! 

Constanta, summer 2012

As well as the tranquil, beautifully scenic Danube Delta.

Danube Delta -Spring 2012

These are all my Romanian travel tales, although a recount of Sibiu and Sighisoara will follow soon…

So, that’s all for my first Travel Tuesdays post -hopefully I’ll actually post it on a Tuesday next time! I look forward to hearing about any travel tales you may have in the comments.

Leave a Reply

