Travel Tuesdays 10: Ukraine 

As I think I’ve mentioned in a previous post, I travelled to Ukraine in summer 2007 with my dad and sister, where we stayed in a tiny tiny village with family. We had a wonderful time experiencing village life, being force-fed (Ukrainians love to eat!) and even had a chance to visit Kiev. 
One day, we were swimming in the village lake, when a man walked past with his horse. He said “oh, we are related, you must come to my house to eat!” And he insisted that we followed him home for a feast. A great example of Ukrainian hospitality!


Ukrainians seem to believe that vodka will cure anything… here is one of our aunts trying to put vodka on my sister’s mosquito bites to stop the itching.


And I absolutely loved the village shop -visiting there really felt like stepping back in time…


This is my relatives’ house -it was so pretty! 

Leave a Reply

