Travel Tuesdays 21: Constanta 

I went on a lovely little holiday this weekend to Mamaia, a seaside resort on the Black Sea near to Constanta. We had a few days off school because of some bank holidays -yay! Of course, all of Romania had those days off work, so the train was pretty full! But all the passengers seemed to disperse quite well because, although the seaside resort of Mamaia was busy, it wasn’t anywhere near as crowded as it is in the summer holidays! Many Romanians think it’s too cold to swim in the sea at the moment, and yes, the sea was chilly, but not that cold! So, I had a lovely few days relaxing on the beach, swimming in the chilly sea and wandering around. Plus, I enjoyed the sea breeze – Bucharest is so hot and humid these days, but the coast is nice and cool!  

My hotel was about 2km away from the main area of Mamaia where all the tourist shops, snack stands and restaurants are located, so I wandered along the beach or promenade every day to enjoy the atmosphere and eat pancakes… I also went on the cable car, to enjoy the lovely views of the sea and lake. Oh, and on the pier to admire the sunset!

It was a little strange going on holiday to the beach alone… waiters kept asking me, “are you waiting for your friends?” when I asked for a table for one, and I overheard groups of people looking at me and saying, “why would you go on holiday alone?”

Well, if my Romanian was better, I could have told them that it’s nice to go on holiday, to see and experience new things and enjoy a change of scenery every once in a while (plus I love the seaside!) And if your friends don’t/ can’t come with you, then it’s better to go alone than to not go at all!  Who agrees? 

The beach near my hotel.


All the tourist shops are squished into this area of Mamaia. 


The sunsets were lovely! This photo was taken from the pier, I didn’t need to swim with my camera to take this photo!

Leave a Reply

